iSpy Analysis – Part 1

“What’s in a name? That which we call a rose by any other name would smell as sweet.”

-Juliet

When I typed my name into Google I was not expecting to get back any notable results. Surprisingly I was faced with a few results that matched directly with “Matthew Morgal”, including one googleganger. The topmost entry resulted in a link to Matthew Morgal, a baseball player for Lamar University. I also noticed a link to my Facebook page which could not reveal any useful information since I was not logged into it. Most of the results however came up for various people named “Matthew Morgan” I’ve noticed to be a popular last name.

Outside of the link to the Facebook profile picture my digital presence is very small. I personally do not mind this, as I would rather not have my name freely accessible. I’ve heard stories concerning a variety of problems associated with someone freely posting their information on the internet, with everything from identity theft to stalking being a negative consequence. I’d much prefer to be a number; it’s much safer that way. Although I do employ a pseudonym when I post or create pages on the internet (which incidentally when googled turns up many a page that I have either created or contributed heavily to, but more on that in the next blog post), and it can be linked back to me, I do take great care in not revealing personal information. Truth is we may never be truly safe on the internet, but that won’t stop me from having a fun and safe time.

Fun yet pointless musing: Although I do not think the baseball player Matthew Morgal would be confused with myself (His picture on the website page is noticeably different than the one on my Facebook page), I do notice some odd similarities. For starters, we are both University students. Also strange is his birthdate of 9/18/1986. I was born 10/20/1986, hardly a month later. Although he was born in Oklahoma and myself in Maryland, I thought that was interesting to say the least.

Leave a comment

Filed under Miscellaneous

Leave a Reply

