Idiocy is Fun!

The world is full of idiots. This is a point that Lindsey Strokes makes in her excellent book Planet Idiot. It is fantastic read and I highly recommend it, but this is not a book review post so I need to move on now OK 3-2-1 let’s go! Concerning idiocy, everyone has their own point of view on how exactly one should live and embrace life. These points tend to follow a comprehensive yet disorganized moral code that we draw upon whenever we see someone breaking one of our firmly established life rules.

And when that happens, that person is an idiot. Because they are wrong and you are right.

Idiots drive too fast. Idiots drive too slow. Idiots act pretentious. Idiots are humble. Idiots are high-strung. Idiots do not speak up for themselves. I could continue, but I think you get the idea, and if I am to succeed with this blog post then I need to ensure that as few people as possible think I’m an idiot. After careful analysis the best approach would be to continue on now. Though by stating this I’d say 5 (maybe 6 because I added the phrase “I’d say”…bound to set off someone out there in Europe) more people now think I’m an idiot.

However, that’s a risk I am willing to take for the sake of rhetoric. And for all those people who had to look up what exactly I mean by rhetoric, feel free to call me an idiot. If you think I should have said “argumentation” instead because it fits better, I think you are an idiot because you are clearly looking too much into this and are therefore wrong. I like to be preemptive like that because I know I am right.

The point I am trying to make here is that everyone is an idiot. Try as we might as human beings to achieve perfection, the truth is that something you do, regardless of how silly or inconsequential it may seem to you is an heinous act to someone else. This goes double for opinions, or, to once again be preemptive and avoid having more people call me an idiot, fact. Since perfection is therefore impossible to obtain we must settle for the second best result of making as few people as possible think we are an idiot. Failing that, at least ensure that a satisfactory number of people consider us not to be idiots.

Fortunately that last one is easy. All you have to do is avoid a career in politics.

So I say, embrace your idiocy and have fun with it. Sure you may not think that habit of yours is idiotic, but trust me, someone does. Hopefully not your significant other. Try to keep those down to five or less or best results. And by that I mean habits, though I think it applies equally well to significant others. Either way, the more you have, the more complicated your life becomes.

Leave a comment

Filed under Life

Leave a Reply

