Millennial Avoidance

I came across a post today from the writer of TranscendingBorders mentioning that she deleted all of her social media outside of her blog. About two weeks ago I attempted something similar, albeit less dramatically, in taking a temporary break from Facebook. I still have my account, and I’ll return to it eventually after I finish my little Facebook-avoidance experiment.

Like many millennial Facebook users, I spend way too much time being nosy and following the exploits of my friends in lieu of doing something productive. So during my free time, whenever I get the urge to visit Facebook, I turn on my Kindle, write for this blog…basically exercising my creativity. I also apply this to other random internet distractions like YouTube. Fortunately I’m not a heavy Twitter or Tumblr user.

What have I learned so far? That I spend way too much time on Facebook.

In the past week and a half I finished the book I was reading, got through two more, and written some blog material. Not a bad start, although writing will soon turn to wedding planning (I popped the question last December!)…and writing about wedding planning, but more on that later. I am not trying to say Facebook is evil as it turns 10 years old, but sometimes you need to step back and re-examine how you spend your time. The results may surprise you.

Ironically, all of my blog posts and Goodreads activity shows up on my Facebook. Even though I haven’t been checking in, my Facebook d stays active.

Leave a comment

Filed under Life, Social Media, Writing

Leave a Reply

